Designated Area Migration Agreement

Visa Solutions Australia
Australian Migration Agents

The Designated Area Migration Agreement

A Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) is a formal agreement between the Australian Government and a regional, state or territory authority. It provides access to more overseas workers than the standard skilled migration program and provides flexibility for regions to address their unique economic and labour market conditions. The primary goal of these agreements is to get more migrants living in regional areas to help fill skills shortages while providing economic benefit to each of the states where these agreements exist.

There are currently 12 DAMAs in place in Australia. These are:

  • Adelaide City Technology and Innovation Advancement, SA
  • East Kimberley, WA
  • Far North Queensland, QLD
  • Goulburn Valley, VIC
  • Great South Coast, VIC
  • Northern Territory, NT
  • Orana, NSW
  • Pilbara, WA
  • South Australia Regional, SA
  • South West, WA
  • The Goldfields, WA
  • Townsville, QLD

Each of these DAMAs has varying elements and requirements but they are generally in effect for five years and use the subclasses 482, 494 and 168 visa programs.

How do I apply?

The experienced team of registered migration agents at Visa Solutions is highly experienced in overseas recruitment. Give them a call to discuss your options when it comes to recruiting overseas staff. They will provide you with advice relevant to your circumstances making the overseas recruitment process straightforward and stress-free.

Australian Migration Agent



Designated Area

Designated Area Migration Agreements – Victoria and Northern Territory

Of the 12 DAMAs currently in place in Australia, Victoria has two in effect and the Northern Territory has one. These are:
– Goulburn Valley Designated Area Migration Agreement (GV DAMA)
– Great South Coast Designated Area Migration Agreement (GSC DAMA)
– Northern Territory Designated Area Migration Agreement (NT DAMA)

Read More